About the institute

The Main Botanic Garden of the city stretched out over more than one hundred hectares from Timiryazev Avenue to Al-Farabi is a green oasis among the concrete jungles. This place is called the "lungs of the city" not occasionally, there is a unique collection of many thousands of flora of Kazakhstan, Russia, Crimea and the Caucasus, North America and East Asia. Kazakhstani scientists have been collecting and adapting plants to local climatic conditions for more than 80 years.

The Institute was founded in 1932. It includes the Main Botanic Garden with an area of 103.6 hectares, the branches of ZhBG and IBG. The territory is a specially protected natural area of national significance.

Based on the Law of the Republic of Kazakhstan dated July 7, 2006 No. 175-III "On Specially Protected Natural Territories" and the "List of Specially Protected Natural Territories of National Significance" approved by the Decree of the Government of the Republic of Kazakhstan dated July 19, 2005 No. 776, status of the specially protected natural territory of national significance has been assigned to the Main Botanic Garden of the "Institute of Botany and Phytointroduction" RSE of the Committee for Science of the Ministry of Education and Science of the Republic of Kazakhstan, its branches Zhezkazgan and Ili Botanic Gardens. Accordingly, the specified organizations are subject to jurisdiction of the Law of the Republic of Kazakhstan "On Specially Protected Natural Territories".

According to this law, "The State Botanic Garden is a specially protected natural area with the status of an nature conservation and scientific organization intended for research and scientific developments on the conservation, protection, reproduction and use of flora, including rare and endangered plant species.

Об институте

Республиканское государственное предприятие на праве хозяйственного ведения "Институт ботаники и фитоинтродукции" Комитета лесного хозяйства и животного мира Министерства экологии, геологии и природных ресурсов Республики Казахстан

Институт организован в 1932 году. Включает в себя Главный ботанический сад площадью 103,6 га, филиалы ЖБС и ИБС. Статус территории – особо охраняемая природная территория Республиканского значения.

Законом Республики Казахстан от 07 июля 2006 года № 175-III «Об особо охраняемых природных территориях» и «Перечнем особо охраняемых природных территорий республиканского значения», утвержденным Постановлением Правительства РК от 19 июля 2005 года № 776 Главному ботаническому саду РГП на ПХВ «Институт ботаники и фитоинтродукции» КЛХЖМ МЭГПР РК, его филиалам Жезказганскому и Илийскому ботаническим садам,  установлен статус особо охраняемой природной территории Республиканского значения. Соответственно указанные организации попадают под юрисдикцию Закона РК «Об особо охраняемых природных территориях».

Согласно этому закону «Государственный ботанический сад – особо охраняемая природная территория со статусом  природоохранной и научной организации, предназначенная для проведения исследований и научных разработок по охране, защите, воспроизводству и использованию растительного мира, в том числе редких и находящихся под угрозой исчезновения видов растений.